Energy Star Homes

November 13, 2009 | 4 Comments



To earn the ENERGY STAR, a home must meet guidelines for energy efficiency set by the US Environmental Protection Agency. These homes are at least 15% more energy efficient than homes built to the 2004 International Residential Code (IRC), and include additional energy saving features that make them 20-30% more efficient than standard homes.

Energy used in homes often comes from the burning of fossil fuels at power plants, which contributes to smog, acid rain and risks of global warming. The less energy used, the less air pollution generated. The easiest way to make sure a new home is energy efficient is to look for the blue ENERGY STAR mark, the government backed symbol for energy efficiency.

Any home 3 stories or less can earn the ENERGY STAR if it has been verified to meet EPA’s guidelines, including:

  • single-family homes
  • attached homes
  • low-rise multi-family homes
  • manufactured homes
  • system-built homes
  • log homes
  • concrete homes

This label clearly identifies a home as having earned the ENERGY STAR.

For more information on making your home more energy efficient, please see:


You must be logged in to post a comment.




Speak your mind