Mount Pleasant named finalist for 2010 All-American City Award

April 23, 2010 | 28 Comments


Mount Pleasant named finalist for prestigious 2010 All-America City AwardsThe National Civic League recently named Mount Pleasant as of one the finalists for the 2010 All-America City Award. The Town of Mount Pleasant was the only municipality in South Carolina selected to compete for the nation’s oldest and most prestigious civic recognition award, and one of 27 municipalities to compete for the award nation-wide.“These are some of the most innovative communities in the country,” noted National Civic League President Gloria Rubio-Cortes. “They give us hope and inspiration and teach us important lessons about leveraging the civic energy of ordinary people to address difficult challenges during some very tough economic times.”“Being named a finalist in this very prominent competition is quite an honor for the Town of Mount Pleasant,” said Mayor Billy Swails. “We intend to travel to Kansas City in June to win that coveted designation. We will highlight some of the work done to revitalize Coleman Boulevard, the planned improvements to Johnnie Dodds Boulevard, our cooperative relationship with the Charleston County School District and all our community stakeholders. Also highlighted are the Town’s work on affordable housing and our work to address service delivery needs for our aging population. This award is about civic engagement, innovation, inclusiveness and impact. We have a unique story to tell – a story that highlights these qualities, which I believe are essential to good governance.”The 2010 All-America City finalists are addressing such issues as:
• Diversifying the labor force
• Providing affordable housing options in a tough economy
• Funding basic services to people of need in the recession
• Increasing tax base to fund schools
• Transitioning to a more diverse workforce
• Providing cold weather shelter for the increased numbers of homeless
• Overcoming financial hurdles to serve the needs of youth \To become a finalist, each participant completed an application documenting three community projects that address their communities’ most pressing challenges. More than 500 communities from around the country have earned this distinguished title. Some have earned it five times over the past 61 years. Each community will send a delegation to Kansas City to tell their stories of positive community change to a jury of civic experts. The ten All-America Cities will be announced on June 18.
Learn more about the award program and follow events leading up to the Kansas City event on our new All-America City blog at

The All-America City Awards program is sponsored by Prudential, MWH, Hyatt Regency Crown Center, Southern California Edison, Burns & McDonnell, Pforzheimer Foundation, and Southwest Airlines, the official airline of the All-America City Awards.
NCL is a 116-year-old nonpartisan nonprofit organization that strengthens democracy by increasing the capacity of our nation’s people to fully participate in and build healthy and prosperous communities across America.






You must be logged in to post a comment.




Speak your mind